Press Room

FCT gets land use & allocation committee

The FCT Minister, Malam Muhammad Musa Bello has approved the constitution of the FCT Land Use and Allocation Committee (LUAC) in line with the provisions of the Land Use Act 1978.  The Minister made this revelation while receiving the Commandant of the National Defense College, Rear Admiral Sunday Alade that paid him a working visit in Abuja.

Malam Bello disclosed that the 12-member Land Use and Allocation Committee is to be chaired by the FCT Permanent Secretary, Dr. Babatope Ajakaiye and  the Committee is expected to identify land available for possible allocation within the Territory, process requests and advise the FCT Minister.

He said that the constituted committee would also advise the Minister on matters connected with the management of land, resettlement of persons affected by the revocation of rights of occupancy, as well as determine disputes as to the amount of compensation payable for improvement on land.  According to him, the Committee is to ensure equity, transparency and due process in all land allocation in the Federal Capital Territory.

The Minister revealed that members of the Committee include the General Counsel/Secretary, Legal Services Secretariat; Secretary, Area Council Services Secretariat; Directors of Engineering Services, Resettlement & Compensation, Urban & Regional Planning, Survey & Mapping as well as Abuja Geographic Information Systems (AGIS).

Others are the Special Assistants to the Hon. Minister and the Permanent Secretary; while the Director of Land Administration is a member/secretary to the committee.

Originally published in Daily Trust

Leave a Reply